Who We Are

Atlantic District

WRJ Atlantic District seeks to:

  • Promote the aims of Women of Reform Judaism and support its projects;
  • Bring the District sisterhoods into closer cooperation and association with one another; 
  • Further their respective activities, to help sisterhoods participate most effectively in the activities of Women of Reform Judaism;
  • Serve as a liaison between local sisterhoods and Women of Reform Judaism, and
  • Assist in the organization of new sisterhoods in the District.

CLICK HERE to read the history of how District #4 and District #5 merged to become the Atlantic District.


Our Leadership

President: Lori Motis, Congregation Beth Or, Maple Glen, PA

First Vice President: Jan Shaw, Women of Rodef Shalom, Pittsburgh, PA

Vice Presidents:

Membership VP - Susan Cohen, Women of Temple Sinai, Pittsburgh, PA -

Marketing & Communications VP - Luisa Narins, Individual Member, River Vale, NJ

Development & Special Projects VP - Cheryl Harper, Beth David Sisterhood, Gladwyne, PA 

Advocacy VP - Barbara Gibson, Women of Temple Sinai, Pittsburgh, PA 

Secretary - Evelyn Fair, Old York Road Temple Beth Am, Abington, PA

Treasurer - Ellen Mirbach, Congregation Beth Or, Maple Glen, PA

Assistant Treasurer - Carol Woolford

Immediate Past President - Annice Benamy, Temple Sinai of Bergen County, Tenafly, NJ

Area Directors/Sisterhoods

Area Directors (ADs) are your connection to the Northeast District and WRJ.

  • Jan Shaw - 1) Temple Ohav Shalom, Allison Park, PA, 2) Old York Road-Temple Beth Am, Abington, PA, 3) Barnert Temple, Franklin Lakes, NJ
  • Abby Gilbert - 1) Congregation Emanu-el Israel, Greensburg, PA, 2) Women of Rodef Shalom, Pittsburgh, PA, 3) Temple Shalom, Wheeling, WV, 4) Women of Temple Sinai, Pittsburgh, PA

  • Kareen Hartwig - 1) Temple Ohev Shalom, Harrisburg, PA, 2) Shaarai Shomayim, Lancaster, PA, 3) Beth David Congregation, Gladwyne, PA, 4) Temple Emanuel, Cherry Hill, NJ

  • Sharon Zydney - 1) Woman of Kolot, Washington Township, NJ, 2) Beth Haverim Shir Shalom, Mahwah, NJ, 3) Temple Sinai of Bergen County, Tenafly, NJ, 4) Temple Sholom of West Essex, Cedar Grove, NJ, 5) Adath Emanu-El, Mount Laurel, NJ

  • Open - 1) Congregation Keneseth Israel, Elkins Park, PA, 2) Congregation Beth Or, Maple Glen, PA, 3) Shir Ami Bucks County Jewish Congregation, Newtown, PA, 4) Temple Judea of Bucks County, Furlong, PA

  • Mary Kamplain - 1) Temple Sholom, Broomall, PA, 2) Temple Brith Achim, King of Prussia, PA, 3) Beth Chaim Reform Congregation, Malvern, PA, 4) Main Line Reform Temple, Wynnewood, PA

  • Cindy Postilnick - 1) Temple Emanu-El, Edison, NJ, 2) Temple Beth-El, Hillsborough, NJ, 3) Temple Emanu-El, Westfield, NJ, 4) Congregation B'Nai Jeshurun, Short Hills, NJ

  • Debi Sager - 1) Temple Shalom, Aberdeen, NJ, 2) Temple Rodeph Torah of Western Monmouth, Marlboro, NJ, 3) Monmouth Reform Temple, Tinton Falls, NJ, 4) Temple Shaari Emeth, Manalapan, NJ

  • Denyse Miskin - 1) Congregation Keneseth Israel, Allentown, PA, 2) Congregation Oheb Shalom, Wyomissing, PA (Reading), 3) The Women's Connection Temple Har Shalom, Warren NJ 

Committee Chairs

  • Advocacy/Critical Issues - Linda Kline, Sisterhood Old York Road, Beth Am, Abington, PA
  • Alumnae Chair - Becky Markowitz, Shir Ami, Newtown, PA
  • Budget -TBA
  • Camp/Youth - Mary Salinger, Congregation Keneseth Israel, Allentown, PA and Debi Nelson, Independent Member, Allentown, PA
  • District Scholarship/Leadership Development - Margie Kopins, Shir Ami, Newtown, PA
  • Electronic Archives & Digital Storage - Janet Katz, Congregation Beth Or, Maple Glen, PA
  • Photographers - Janet Katz, Congregation Beth Or, Maple Glen, PA &
    Sharon Zydney, Temple Emanu-El, Westfield, NJ
  • Program Chair - TBD
  • Local Arrangements (Interim 2021) - Clarissa Bencan
  • Retreats & Meetings - TBD
  • Social Media - Luisa Narins, Independent Member, River Vale, NJ, 
  • Membership/New Affiliates - Annice Benamy, Temple Sinai of Bergen County, Tenafly, NJ 
  • Nominating Committee - Annice Benamy, Temple Sinai of Bergen County, Tenafly, NJ 
  • Newsletter/E-Blast Editor - Luisa Narins, Independent Member, River Vale, NJ
  • Website Manager - Jan Shaw, Women of Rodef Shalom, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Or Ami - Fonda Hartman, Main Line Reform Temple, Wynnewood, PA
  • Speakers Bureau - Anita Gordon, Temple Sinai, Pittsburgh, PA,
  • Sunshine/Caring Fund - Marsha Malberg, Temple Beth-El, Hillsborough, NJ 
  • Fundraising/Philanthropy (YES Fund) - Heather Lorgeree, Kol Dorot Washington Twp., NY 

Members of the WRJ Board of Directors:

  • Lori Motis
  • Lynn Magid Lazar
  • Lisa Schwartz
  • Leslie Brier
  • Jan Shaw
  • Abby Gilbert
  • Rosanne Selfon
  • Annice Benamy
  • Sharon Zydney
  • Luisa Narins

Board Resources

Please check out our Dropbox for the following password-protected documents.